Friday, June 8, 2007

Some new additions

Mainly due to suggestions from readers who have visited my blog, I've made a few changes, including the creation of a link that contains an expanded excerpt from my series. This excerpt includes the prologue and the first portion of Chapter One from Book One, entitled The Pit. I hope that most of you will be able to find the time to give it a look. The expanded excerpt can be accessed from the link at the bottom of my home page.

All six books are written, at least through the first-draft stage, but Books 3-6 still are in the revision process. I'm currently halfway through the final revision of Book 3. It's reading smoothly to me, which is encouraging. I wasn't sure how much more work it would need, but as it turns out, less than I had feared. It should be ready to go by the end of June. Then I'll turn my attention to Book 4.

I hope this short note finds all of you well and happy. If so, treasure it. Life is so short. All you can do is hang on ... and live it.

-- Jim


Jeanne Malmgren said...

Your accomplishment is absolutely amazing. I have never seen anyone with such a strong work ethic: You write every night, without fail, 365 nights a year.

That's called making your dream come true.

Congratulations. You deserve every bit of success this series will bring you. I am so proud of you!


Jim Melvin said...

Dear Jeanne:

Every writer needs the support of his family and friends. Being a writer yourself, you've put aside some of your own dreams to help accomplish mine. Thank you so much for everything!

Love, Jim

Now ... a group awwwwwwww.


The Death Wizard Chronicles is a sexy, action-packed six-book epic fantasy series: Book One (Forged by Death), Book Two (Chained by Fear), Book Three (Eve of War), Book Four (World on Fire), Book Five (Sun God), Book Six (Death-Know).

The DW Chronicles is not for children and teenagers -- or the faint of heart. But if you like graphic fantasy that is bursting with excitement yet still has a lot going on between the lines, I think you'll love my series.

In a groundbreaking paradox, the Death Wizard, a champion of good, derives his power from a source traditionally seen as negative -- death. His nemesis, an evil sorcerer, derives his power from the sun, the benevolent source of all life. Their struggle to control the fate of the planet Triken will take your breath away.

In an original twist never before seen in this genre, the Death Wizard is able to enter the realm of death during a "temporary suicide." Through intense concentration, he stops his heartbeat and feeds on death energy, which provides him with an array of magical powers.

The series also is a love triangle involving two desperate characters attempting to come together despite the machinations of an all-powerful psychopath with incestuous cravings.

Graphic and action-packed, spanning a millennium of turmoil, The DW Chronicles carries readers on a journey they will never forget.

Do you fear death? The Death Wizard does not. Find out why.

-- Please go to for more details.

About Me

My photo
Clemson, SC, United States
I was born in Poughkeepsie, N.Y., but grew up in St. Petersburg, Fla. I graduated from the University of South Florida (Tampa) in 1979 with a B.A. in Journalism. I now live in South Carolina near the Blue Ridge Mountains, a pleasant setting for writing, to say the least. I was an award-winning journalist at the St. Petersburg Times for twenty-five years and I currently work at the Charlotte Observer. I am married with five daughters.

The author

The author
Jim Melvin, a veteran journalist, debuts as novelist.