Wednesday, April 4, 2012

A taste of what's to come

I have finished writing three short stories that will accompany the six-book series either as teasers leading up to Book 1 or as stories to run between books to keep things active. This hasn't yet been decided, but I'm pleased by the stories -- and I believe that fans of epic fantasy will enjoy them, even as stand-alones.

Torg's First Death describes my main character's ascension to the title of Death-Knower, as he achieves death and then returns to his body filled with magical powers.

The Black Fortress tells the tale of a horrific war between the forces of good and an army of monsters led by a creature called a Stone-Eater, who derives his magic, literally, from eating stone.

Rise of the Sun God describes the ascension of Invictus, the ultra-powerful sorcerer who was raised by a demon.

Of course, many of the characters in the shorts also will appear regularly in books 1-6. For readers who love epic fantasy, these stories will give you a taste of what The DW Chronicles is all about.


Kappa no He said...

Cannot wait for the August to arrive. And the stories too. Doki doki waku waku!

Jim Melvin said...

Thanks, Kappa! You make me happa.

Kappa no He said...



The Death Wizard Chronicles is a sexy, action-packed six-book epic fantasy series: Book One (Forged by Death), Book Two (Chained by Fear), Book Three (Eve of War), Book Four (World on Fire), Book Five (Sun God), Book Six (Death-Know).

The DW Chronicles is not for children and teenagers -- or the faint of heart. But if you like graphic fantasy that is bursting with excitement yet still has a lot going on between the lines, I think you'll love my series.

In a groundbreaking paradox, the Death Wizard, a champion of good, derives his power from a source traditionally seen as negative -- death. His nemesis, an evil sorcerer, derives his power from the sun, the benevolent source of all life. Their struggle to control the fate of the planet Triken will take your breath away.

In an original twist never before seen in this genre, the Death Wizard is able to enter the realm of death during a "temporary suicide." Through intense concentration, he stops his heartbeat and feeds on death energy, which provides him with an array of magical powers.

The series also is a love triangle involving two desperate characters attempting to come together despite the machinations of an all-powerful psychopath with incestuous cravings.

Graphic and action-packed, spanning a millennium of turmoil, The DW Chronicles carries readers on a journey they will never forget.

Do you fear death? The Death Wizard does not. Find out why.

-- Please go to for more details.

About Me

My photo
Clemson, SC, United States
I was born in Poughkeepsie, N.Y., but grew up in St. Petersburg, Fla. I graduated from the University of South Florida (Tampa) in 1979 with a B.A. in Journalism. I now live in South Carolina near the Blue Ridge Mountains, a pleasant setting for writing, to say the least. I was an award-winning journalist at the St. Petersburg Times for twenty-five years and I currently work at the Charlotte Observer. I am married with five daughters.

The author

The author
Jim Melvin, a veteran journalist, debuts as novelist.