Friday, March 21, 2014

Epic fantasy takes an epic ride

The Death Wizard Chronicles has been on a wild ride lately. Book 1 (Forged in Death) of the six-book series became an Amazon best-seller on March 9. Books 2 (Chained by Fear), 3 (Shadowed by Demons) and 4 (Torn by War) also have been selling well, on a variety of venues. Book 5 (Blinded by Power) will be out in just a few weeks. and maybe sooner. And Book 6 (Healed by Hope) is waiting in the wings, chomping at the bit. This series is action-packed, and definitely heavy on magic and monsters. If you prefer epic fantasy that only uses magic as a fringe element, then my series probably isn't the best for you. But if you like epic fantasy that is bursting with magic -- not to mention monsters, zombies, vampires, trolls and a wide variety of new creations -- then you should be all in! There's a lot going on between the lines, but also a lot of fun going on on the surface.

Only a Death-Knower can die. And live again.

Only a Death-Knower can return from death. And remember.

Only a Death-Knower can tell the world what he's seen. Not all care to listen.

No comments:


The Death Wizard Chronicles is a sexy, action-packed six-book epic fantasy series: Book One (Forged by Death), Book Two (Chained by Fear), Book Three (Eve of War), Book Four (World on Fire), Book Five (Sun God), Book Six (Death-Know).

The DW Chronicles is not for children and teenagers -- or the faint of heart. But if you like graphic fantasy that is bursting with excitement yet still has a lot going on between the lines, I think you'll love my series.

In a groundbreaking paradox, the Death Wizard, a champion of good, derives his power from a source traditionally seen as negative -- death. His nemesis, an evil sorcerer, derives his power from the sun, the benevolent source of all life. Their struggle to control the fate of the planet Triken will take your breath away.

In an original twist never before seen in this genre, the Death Wizard is able to enter the realm of death during a "temporary suicide." Through intense concentration, he stops his heartbeat and feeds on death energy, which provides him with an array of magical powers.

The series also is a love triangle involving two desperate characters attempting to come together despite the machinations of an all-powerful psychopath with incestuous cravings.

Graphic and action-packed, spanning a millennium of turmoil, The DW Chronicles carries readers on a journey they will never forget.

Do you fear death? The Death Wizard does not. Find out why.

-- Please go to for more details.

About Me

My photo
Clemson, SC, United States
I was born in Poughkeepsie, N.Y., but grew up in St. Petersburg, Fla. I graduated from the University of South Florida (Tampa) in 1979 with a B.A. in Journalism. I now live in South Carolina near the Blue Ridge Mountains, a pleasant setting for writing, to say the least. I was an award-winning journalist at the St. Petersburg Times for twenty-five years and I currently work at the Charlotte Observer. I am married with five daughters.

The author

The author
Jim Melvin, a veteran journalist, debuts as novelist.